Release Date:

Jan 2018

Sound Format:

LPCM 2.0, DTS Digital Surround

Catalog Number:


Pas de deux (The Royal Ballet)

Marianela Nuñez (Odette (Swan Lake); Kitri (Don Quixote); Myrtha (Giselle)); Edward Watson (Rudolf (Mayerling)); Sergei Polunin (Jack/Knave of Hearts (Alice's Adventures in Wonderland)); Sarah Lamb (Elite Syncopations; Limen; Perdita (The Winter's Tale)); Mara Galeazzi (Mary Vetsera (Mayerling)); Tamara Rojo (Manon (Manon)); Carlos Acosta (Des Grieux (Manon); Basilio (Don Quixote)); Alina Cojocaru (Giselle (Giselle)); Natalia Osipova (Odile (Swan Lake)); Matthew Golding (Prince Siegfried (Swan Lake)); Roberta Marquez (Lise (La fille mal gardée)); Steven McRae (Colas (La fille mal gardée); Floitzel (The Winter's Tale); The Prince (The Nutcracker));

This unique collection celebrates the pas de deux: the ‘steps for two’or partner dances so central to ballets both modern and classical. It brings together 16 exceptional pas de deux from The Royal Ballet’s unequalled repertory, in outstanding performances by Company dancers past and present. Representing The Royal Ballet’s heritage works and recent creations, as well as 19th-century classics, Pas de deux demonstrates the choreographic diversity, technical brilliance, show-stopping spectacle and artistry for which The Royal Ballet is acclaimed around the world.

Included in this collection are Frederick Ashton’s Voices of Spring and pas de deux from his La Fille mal gardée; from Kenneth MacMillan’s Romeo and Juliet, Concerto, Elite Syncopations, Manon and Mayerling; from Wayne McGregor’s Limen; from Christopher Wheeldon’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and The Winter’s Tale; and from the 19th-century classics Giselle, Don Quixote, Swan Lake and The Nutcracker.

Pas de deux features many of the major stars of the Royal Ballet past and present, including Sarah Lamb, Mara Galeazzi, TamaraRojo, Carlos Acosta, Alina Cojocaru, Natalia Osipova, Matthew Golding, Roberta Marquez and Steven McRae.

Orchestra of the Royal Opera House